Skip To Main Content



2008 Hall of Fame

Sonny Anderson, Wayne Becklin, Dave Halgren, Rollie Hanks, Paul Ostby, Kurt Otto, Charise Schrupp, Judee (Saba) Vesledahl

Sonny Anderson (1955)  Art "Sonny" Anderson earned 15 letters in four sports with the Elks, and was student body president.  He played football and baseball for Hamline, served in Vietnam, and became a doctor.  Anderson had four letters each, football (receiver), basketball (guard) and track (everything from 100 to mile), serving as captain in all three.  He lettered three years in baseball (catcher, outfield) and helped the Elks win two conference titles.  After the University of Minnesota Medical School, Anderson spent five years in the Air Force as a Pacific medical officer.  He was an Ob/Gyn in Redland, Calif., from 1969-92, and has been retired since then.

Wayne Becklin (1972)  Wayne Becklin was football and hockey captain for Hamline after making all-conference in both sports plus track for the Elks.  An elementary PE teacher in Anoka, he is co-head coach (with Pete Hayes) of the Tornadoes boys' soccer team that won the state title in 2007.  Becklin holds the Elk single-game record of five touchdowns (against Braham) and careerwise ranks second with 7.5 yards per carry and fourth with 27 touchdowns.  He nabbed four letters in hockey (team MVP), three in football and three in track.  He was conference champ in shot put (school-record 53-2.75) and in sprint medley, helping the Elks win the 1972 Rum River title.  At Hamline he lettered four years in football and three in hockey.  An Elk River resident, he is a longtime Elk track assistant coach.   

Dave Halgren (Coach)  Dave Halgren, a key figure in Elk River soccer for many years, is a member of the state coaches Hall of Fame.  An ERHS science teacher from 1965-95, he was Elk girls soccer coach from 1983-96.  He served Three Rivers Soccer Association in several offices, including president, from 1976-2004, and was president of the Minnesota State High School Soccer Association (1991-95).  He's been a Golden Goal Club member for state women's soccer since 1994.  Also active in hockey, Halgren was one of the founders of Elk River Youth Hockey Association in 1966, served the group as an officer, and was Elk boys coach 1968-70.  He received a WCCO Good Neighbor award in 1976.

Rollie Hanks (1956)  Rollie Hanks was an all-MIAC end and team captain for the Gustavus Adolphus football team, and helped the Gusties win conference titles in 1958 and 1959.  He taught math at Osseo and St. Louis Park, retiring in 1996, and was St. Louis Park's head football coach 1979-87.  As an Elk, he lettered three years in football and two in basketball, where he made all-conference.  In his only year of track, he went to state in the 800 relay and discus.  He lives in Minnetonka.

Paul Ostby (1978)  Paul Ostby was Minnesota Gophers hockey MVP as a walk-on goalie his senior year, 1982, and played on the U.S. national team in 1982-83.  He is now a sports agent representing several NHL players.  A longtime coach, Ostby was assistant for the Gophers from 1985-93 and for three state champion teams (Apple Valley 1996, and Benilde-St. Margaret's 1999 and 2001).  He has owned and operated a hockey camp for 20 years.  With the Elks, Ostby was a five-time golf letterman and reached state twice.  He was captain of cross country, hockey and golf as a senior.  He lives in Minneapolis.

Kurt Otto (1983)  The third Otto brother chosen for this honor, Kurt Otto was a four-sport letterman, especially remembered as an outstanding quarterback.  He led the 1982 Elks to the state semifinals, throwing 16 touchdown passes, and played in the state all-star game.  He started three seasons for the North Dakota, where he made all-NCC as a senior and academic All-America twice, set several passing records, and was the school's male athlete of the year in 1987.  With the Elks, Otto was captain, team MVP and all-conference in football and hockey.  He also lettered in baseball and golf.  Ottos is an administrator at Regions Hospital, directing cardiovascular services.  He lives in Blaine.

Charise Schrupp (1994)  A five-time state champion in gymnastics, Charise Schrupp went on to a strong career at Missouri, where she was Big 12 female scholar-athlete of the year in 1998.  She was state all-around champion as a junior in 1993 and runner-up as a senior, and nabbed state golds in vault and bars as a freshman, vault as a sophomore and balance beam as a junior.  The first Minnesotan to perform a double back flip (1992), she ranked No. 2 in the nation in 1993 and made prep all-American twice.  A track star as well, she went to state in long and triple jump.  Schrupp lettered four years at Missouri and holds their floor ex record of 9.9.  A Ramsey resident, she did some club gymnastics coaching and worked in financial services before acquiring a law degree (last December) but for now is home with two young children.

Judee (Saba) Vesledahl 1986  Judee Saba earned 10 letters and seven all-conference awards in volleyball, basketball and softball.  She was especially prolific in softball.  Primarily a catcher, she was all-conference and team MVP three times for the Elks, and was again all-conference and team MVP three years at Bemidji State, hitting close to .350 in her career.  She was all-region twice and all-America second team in 1989.  A physical education teacher at Becker, Vesledahl was head softball coach for 11 years, won eight conference titles and was picked to coach in the 1998 all-star series.  She's still an assistant coach for pitchers and catchers.